Links I Like

Links I Like is a collection of blogs, articles and books I’ve come across recently and thought they were worth sharing. Click here for past Links I Like.

book

5 temptations every church leader, dad and husband face.

In the same way that almost every parent is tempted to engineer their child’s life from choosing a career, As a church leader, there’s pressure to want to engineer your child’s faith life. I have said it many times over. I want nothing more than for my children to be in a vibrant relationship with Jesus Christ. And you can be tempted to try to make that happen. You certainly can and should influence their decision. After all, you are the greatest influence in your child’s life. But you can’t make them love God.

Tim Challies on 4 simple steps to destroying a church.

Dave Bruskas on How to prepare a daughter for marriage.

One of the hardest moments in a dad’s life is giving away his daughter in marriage. Preparing her for that moment is even harder.

How to work ahead on your sermon prep.

Alex Chediak on Giving teens a biblical view of sex.

Sex is perhaps the most powerful God-created way to help you give your entire self to another human being. Sex is God’s appointed way for two people to reciprocally say to one another, “I belong completely, permanently, and exclusively to you.”

7 things I wish someone told me before I was a parent.

Justin Taylor on 3 reasons God cares who you sleep with.

1. Everyone cares who people sleep with, so why would God be any different?
2. If there is a God and he has a timeless ethical standard, wouldn’t you expect it to challenge every society somewhere?
3. Finally, why do we care so much whom we sleep with?

Questions you should ask if your church is not growing.

One of the best things any leader can do when they’re in a tough spot is to stop making assumptions and start asking questions. Our assumptions got us to where we are, but they won’t necessarily get us where we need to go.

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta