Almost the Best Books of 2013

book

It’s that time of year again, time to share my top lists of the year. Yesterday, I shared the top sermon downloads from Revolution Church.

Tomorrow I’ll begin sharing my favorite albums of the year. First, the honorable mentions, then on Friday you’ll get my top 13 albums of the year.

Today’s list are the books that almost made my favorite books of 2013. To see my list of favorite books from past year, simply click on the numbers: 200920102011 and 2012.

I’ll share my favorite books of 2013 on Thursday. To make this list, it does not have to be published in 2013, I only needed to read it in 2013. As always, this list was hard to narrow down, but here are the honorable mentions for the top 13 books of 2013:

The Conviction to Lead | Al Mohler

Mohler said, “The problem is a lack of attention to what leaders believe and why this is central. If our leaders are not passionately driven by the right beliefs, we are headed for disaster. At the same time, if believers cannot lead, we are headed nowhere.” You can read my review here.

Contagious: Why Things Catch On | Jonah Berger

While this book is mostly a business marketing book, the implications for pastors when it comes to preaching and communication are enormous. When you preach, you want your topic and ideas to spread, to “catch on.” That’s the goal of this book. You can read my review here.

The Power of Habit: Why we do What we do in Life and Business | Charles Duhigg

He talks about the habit loop, which is when there is a cue, a trigger that tells your brain to go into automatic mode and which habit to use. Then there is the routine, which can be physical or mental or emotional. Finally, there is a reward, which helps your brain figure out if this particular loop is worth remembering for the future: Over time, this loop—cue, routine, reward; cue, routine, reward—becomes more and more automatic. You can read my review here.

Give and Take: A Revolutionary Approach to Success | Adam Grant

Give and Take looks at who are the most successful people in the world: givers, takers or matchers. What he found from all walks of life, those that are givers are more successful than takers or simply matchers. This is counter-intuitive and what makes the book so good. You can read my review here.

Stay tuned for more “best of” lists tomorrow.