Monday Morning Mind Dump…

mind dump

  • I love this time of year
  • The parties, gifts, spending time with family and friends and Christmas preaching
  • Love it
  • Starting to love Christmas music more and more
  • It helps when you listen to it non-stop from Thanksgiving to Christmas
  • If you’re looking for some good Christmas music, here is a list of our favorites
  • Yesterday, we had lunch with someone who has been to Revolution 5 times and they brought 4 first time guests with them
  • The first time guests were so excited about finding a church
  • Love it
  • Then, we had our staff and elder Christmas party last night
  • So much laughter
  • Can’t believe who I get to lead with
  • In the background I kept checking the Steelers score only to find out that apparently we still remember how to play football
  • A little late
  • Winning now only screws up our draft pick so we need to keep losing
  • We dedicated Judah at church yesterday
  • Christmas has taken on a new meaning for me as an adoptive dad as I think about the relationship of Jesus and Joseph
  • It was really special
  • I’m posting my “best of” lists this week
  • So hard to go through and make my favorite books and albums of the year
  • Stay tuned for some good stuff
  • Yesterday was a killer day at Revolution
  • I got to preach on the resurrection from John 20
  • If you missed it, you can listen to it here
  • One of the things I love about preaching theology like that is how it stretches me as a communicator
  • Things like the resurrection are true, beautiful, overwhelming and the answer to so many struggles and questions we have
  • Yet, so many sermons and books make it too academic and not life changing
  • You have to bring the logical and emotional arguments to theological preaching
  • Read a killer leadership book over the weekend called Catalyst Leader
  • Highly recommend it
  • So excited for this coming Sunday at Revolution
  • We’re wrapping up our series in John and I am preaching on one of my favorite passages in the entire bible: John 21
  • Then on December 29th we are kicking off what I think will be a life changing series for a lot of people called Breathing Room
  • Then, we are going to do something we’ve never done before: a woman series and a man series
  • Going to be killer
  • Time to get to it…

One thought on “Monday Morning Mind Dump…

  1. Merry Christmas Pastor Josh,
    I’m the lady from California who listens to you while she walks and now has the privilege of having your thoughts get me going in the right direction as I read your posts. I continue to pray as Revolution Church moves forward with the breathe of Jesus in your lives….
    I wanted to also tell you that last week you recommended those $2.99 books for Kindle. And for the first time I read a book on my phone. It was Sacred Influence….I learned so very much! Thanks for all the sharing you do online. You are a connection of God and His Word being so far removed from community up here on the mountain on which we currently live.
    Have yourselves there in Tucson…a Merry little Christmas!
    Would you ask Katie if she has ever read Ann Voskamp http://www.aholyexperience.com
    Amazing reads! You might like them as well.

    His grace…wow!
    Nancy

Comments are closed.