Two Life Impacting Books

I love to read. Every week I review a book that I’ve read. I do this to help my readers find good books, know which books to avoid and to share what I’m learning. Most of the reviews are a way for me to remind myself of what I’ve learned in a book and help to think through it.

Recently, I read 2 books that were incredibly impactful that I wanted to highlight.

bookThe first one was A Praying Life: Connecting with God in a Distracting World (kindle version) by Paul Miller.

Miller shares his insights and conclusions about how to connect the broken pieces of your life and allow prayer–even poorly delivered–to fill the gaps with meaning and substance. Miller’s down-to-earth approach and practical nature will help you see that your relationship with God can grow and your communication with Him can get better.  Parents will find Miller’s family-life experiences especially helpful.

What I found most helpful was the section on how to pray at the end, the use of prayer cards instead of using a prayer list. I’ve begun making prayer cards in evernote for the people and things I’m praying for.

Incredibly practical and helpful.

bookThe second book was In Search of Deep Faith: A Pilgrimage into the Beauty, Goodness & Heart of Christianity (kindle version) by Jim Belcher.

Grappling with his own questions, Jim Belcher set out on a quest to see how the Christian faith faces the challenges of the modern world and answers the cries of the human soul. Seeking renewal after a draining season of life, he and his family spent a year traveling through Europe, exploring the faith that has shaped civilizations throughout the centuries. They rediscovered key figures, places and events in the history of Christianity, from C. S. Lewis’s life at Oxford to Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s death in a concentration camp. Through the experiences of William Wilberforce, Vincent Van Gogh, Corrie ten Boom and others, Belcher saw glimpses of insight, beauty and courage that transcended human limitations. He found himself surprised by joy and compelled by faith.

Part history book, part biography of the great’s in history, part travel book, part parenting book. This book had it all. I could not stop reading this book and found myself stopping on every page to contemplate what I just read and how it touched me.

I can’t recommend these books highly enough. Put them on your Christmas list, read them over the holidays and allow them to make an impact on your life.