Monday Morning Mind Dump…

mind dump

  • This weekend was one of those as a pastor that you despise and love at the same time
  • It was brutal preaching yesterday
  • On Friday, I found out that good friends of ours, people we used to live in the same neighborhood as, he became a Christian in our MC, baptized in our church that she has stage 4 pancreatic cancer and it has spread to her liver and lymph nodes
  • It was a punch in the gut on Friday when Katie and I found out
  • Sitting with them at the hospital was one of those holy moments you don’t forget as you could just sense the Holy Spirit there
  • It was raw, tense, hopeful and yet realistic
  • Brutal
  • There are no words that can describe that
  • You can read more about their situation here
  • Be praying for them and their family
  • I was able to pray with their MC leaders today
  • Love the leaders God has placed in our church and their desire to shepherd and care for the family of God
  • All weekend then I felt unsure about my sermon, where it was going but I didn’t have any better ideas than what I had already written
  • Until…
  • 11pm Saturday night
  • I ended up staying up til 2am rewriting my sermon and then got up at 6am to keep my morning routine to pray over my notes, listen to the worship set and focus my heart
  • By the time I got up to preach I was beyond spent
  • God definitely carried me through
  • The connection during my sermon was incredible
  • I talked about how a follower of Jesus should handle adversity and walk through pain and suffering
  • Timely as I planned on preaching this passage in John over 18 months ago
  • If you missed it, you can listen to it here
  • Next week, we’ll look at how God turns pain and tragedy into joy
  • Speaking of pain and adversity, how about my Steelers
  • Holy cow we are horrible
  • Unreal
  • I mentioned today a book that has been helpful to me on the topic of pain, suffering and adversity is Tim Keller’s Walking with God in Pain and Suffering 
  • It has definitely been a long season for me and our family and I’m looking forward to my monthly retreat day tomorrow
  • Always helpful to get away with my bible and Jesus, listen to worship music and walk around the woods praying and refilling my soul
  • Speaking of working ahead, we landed on our preaching calendar for 2014
  • We’re going to go through Habakkuk, do a series on the life of Samson and walk through 1 Corinthians
  • Should be fun to cover suffering, heaven, hell, adultery, divorce, homosexuality, speaking in tongues, healing, getting drunk at church and a whole host of other topics
  • So cool to meet so many guests at Revolution today
  • I’m blown away by how many new people keep coming to our church and are getting plugged in
  • Awesome to hear how Rev Up and Planet Rev are growing
  • So excited for the leaders we have in those areas
  • Huge prayer need for our church: praying up new MC leaders