Unbound…

book

I loved Josh’s sermon last Sunday. The imagery that for a resurrection to happen there must be a death struck so close to home.

For so much of my adult life I have known that I was a Christ follower, but I was living life like I was still bound by those linen strips associated with death… The lies that I was too much, or not enough. That I had to earn my way into God’s good graces and his love.

John 11:43-44 reads:

When [Jesus] had said these things, he cried out with a loud voice, “Lazarus, come out.” The man who had died came out, his hands and feet bound with linen strips, and his face wrapped with a cloth. Jesus said to them, “Unbind him, and let him go.”

Lazarus was alive!!!! But he was still bound by the linen strips and the only way for him to become UNBOUND was by the help of those around him. He was only free to live that life that Jesus had just called him to by the help of those around him.

BY THE HELP OF THOSE AROUND HIM

And so I ask, Are you alive, but are still bound by those strips of death? Have you asked for help from those around you?

I love what Elyse Fitzpatrick has to say about relationships in Because He Loves Me:

“Through our relationship with [God] and our relationships with other believers, God is in the process of restoring his image in us. He is making us like himself. He does this by his Spirit as his grace and Word is applied to our lives through the incarnational ministry of believers one-to-another. God uses means to inform and transform us, and the primary means that he uses to do this are relationships in the local church.”

[Image]