This Weekend @ Revolution | Why God Allows Pain and Suffering in our Lives

Graphic

The question of pain and suffering, and why God allows things to happen in our world and to us is one of the most puzzling questions we have. It is also, according to Tim Keller, “the biggest roadblock for people believing in Jesus.”

I’ll often get questions like this:

  • Why did God allow ___________ to happen in my life?
  • Could God have stopped ____________ from happening to me?
  • Does God care that ____________ happened to me?

You’ve felt that frustration in your life, haven’t you! God, I need you to help me. Would you please make him love me back? Would you please heal me of the chronic pain? Would you please allow us to get pregnant? Would you please help me get this job?

And nothing. So you pray more.

And still you wait. And nothing seems to change.

One of the reasons I am so excited for this Sunday as because the passage I’m preaching from John 11 answers where Jesus is in the midst of our pain, hurt, suffering, questions and darkest moments. Not only that, it shows us how to handle those times, how to handle the times that don’t make sense.

So, if you’ve ever asked those questions or felt that way or know someone who has, then be sure to bring them with you (you never know when a simple invite will make an eternal difference).

And don’t forget, September 15th Revolution Church turns 5 years old and we are having a celebration (and a baptism)! If you are interested in taking that step of obedience and getting baptized, email Ciara Hull.

I’ll see you this Sunday (and next Sunday for our celebration).

Remember, we meet at 8300 E. Speedway Blvd. at 10am.