One thought on “7 Reasons Preaching will Grow Your Church

  1. I’m not sure I agree with him. Spurgeon had great content, but I suspect most of us would have considered sitting through one of his sermons a chore. In a culture that wants to be entertained – I am suspicious of people who put emphasis on giving great sermons – or for that matter – worrying about how good the worship music is. Often I hear people say, such and such a church has great preaching and worship, but there is no community. I quickly reply – that’s because the preaching and the worship are not as good as you think they are. Sermons and music that are not grounded in a communities narrative produces little depth and little investment in one’s friends. Preaching does not grow your church – the Holy Spirit does. We can only prepare our community for the wind to blow and preaching is a part of the equipping. So, yes, preach Jesus – in season and out.

Comments are closed.