I Will Refresh You

book

This past Sunday at Revolution Church, Jared Carter preached through John 7 and looked at who Jesus is. If you missed it, you can listen to it here as he did a great job.

I was struck by something as I sat there.

The book of John is all about imagery. Each chapter uses it. From calling Jesus the Word in chapter 1, Jesus turning the water into wine in chapter 2, Nicodemus coming to Jesus at night in John 3, on and on it goes. The same goes with chapter 7.

In John 7, Jesus goes to Judea for the Feast of Booths. The Feast of Booths is to remind the nation of Israel of the time God brought them out of Egypt from slavery, the 40 years they wandered in the desert and God’s provision for them throughout this time.

What is most interesting to me is the image in John 7. As the Jews are celebrating God’s provision and care Jesus is teaching and says in vs. 37:

On the last day of the feast, the great day, Jesus stood up and cried out, “If anyone thirsts, let him come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.’”

Jesus is pointing out to them, I am your provision. I am your care. I am your protection. I am your refreshment in the desert.