Monday Morning Mind Dump…

mind dump

  • Not sure if you’ve ever had a week go not as you expected it to go
  • That’s how last week was for me
  • I was supposed to preach yesterday for the first time in 4 weeks
  • I’ve been enjoying my summer preaching break
  • 10 days ago, it looked like we would be hearing when we would fly to Ethiopia and that it would be soon
  • We made the decision to have Jared preach yesterday imagining that we would be in Ethiopia meeting our son for the first time
  • That was not to be
  • If you can imagine, as a parent, this was really disheartening
  • You can still help us we need to still raise 5K to complete our adoption
  • Watch the video below to learn more about our adoption and how to give
  • Any amount is helpful
  • I’m grateful to have Jared so he could step in and handle the sermon
  • He did a great job and it was a good reminder yesterday of who Jesus is and why I can trust Him
  • If you missed it, you can listen to it here
  • I had some cool things happen with writing last week in the midst of the frustration of international adoption
  • I had a guest post appear on Trevin Wax’s blog called The “Other” Celebrity Pastor
  • And one on gospel centered discipleship about The 2 Ideas that Change How we Think about Food, Body Image and Weight Loss
  • Over the summer, I always try to read some novels about something unrelated to leadership or church
  • This summer I started the series by Daniel Silva on Gabriel Allon
  • Super awesome
  • It’s about an Israeli spy/assassin
  • On the leadership front, over the weekend I read through Start with Why
  • If you are a church leader, you have to read this book
  • It is that good
  • Started texting with Jason Wood about fantasy football today
  • Can’t wait for it to start
  • Had a meeting yesterday with all of our MC leaders about the coming year
  • So excited for the leaders we have and what God is going to do in the coming year
  • If you haven’t gotten into an MC yet at Revolution, you need to
  • We are starting sign-ups for all of them THIS Sunday
  • Time to get moving into the week
  • Hopefully, my mind dump will be from Ethiopia next Monday!