Monday Morning Mind Dump…

mind dump

  • What a week
  • I got back Thursday from a few days at a preaching conference in Reno and hit the ground running on my sermon
  • It was an unbelievable conference
  • You can read my notes from it here
  • I preached yesterday on John 3:16
  • One of the most well known, beloved verses in the Bible that most people do not believe is true
  • If you missed it, you can listen to it here
  • I have been loving preaching through the book of John
  • I wasn’t sure how I would like as I’ve never preached through a gospel before and it’s a different genre of Scripture from what we’ve done in the past
  • But it has been awesome
  • After church yesterday we had 60 people in our house for a meeting about our final fundraiser for our adoption
  • We will be working on the home of a widow and through that we are hoping to raise 9-15K for travel expenses to Ethiopia and other expenses
  • I was blown away by the amount of people who are willing to help us and give up time and raise money with us
  • It is humbling to think about all the people who have helped Nehemiah join our family and this child as well
  • I’m excited about this week as the last few have been crazy in our house and this is a slower week
  • Definitely in need of that
  • I have lunch today with my accountability partner, which is always a helpful time
  • If you as a leader or man don’t have someone who can ask you hard questions and challenge you, you will never be who God created you to be
  • It is really helpful to have this
  • I’ll blog this week about how a pastor finds this person as it can be difficult
  • Over the weekend I almost finished Dan Brown’s new book Inferno
  • So good
  • Definitely more like Angels and Demons than The Lost Symbolwhich I think is a good thing
  • I’m really excited about our church starting Financial Peace University this Tuesday
  • This made a huge impact on Katie and I and I can’t recommend it enough
  • You can sign up for the class here