Enjoying Now

book

I don’t know if it is because I am getting older or because I just preached through Ecclesiastes and was reminded every week in that series that life is short, you aren’t promised tomorrow, you live, you die and are forgotten.

I’ve had a lot of conversations recently with people who are itching to get into the next stage of life. Whether they are in high school and want to get to college, are in college and want a job, are single and want to get married, or they are married and want kids, they want to retire, want their kids to move out. Whatever season they are in, they are ready for the next one.

I understand the thinking.

Some seasons are hard. I remember having 3 kids under 3 and a half. We couldn’t wait until the next season.

It is easy to push your kids to grow up, get better at things, get older so life is a little easier.

I was reminded of this the other day at T-Ball practice with my boys. One of them loves baseball, the other is getting used to it. Partly because he is 4 and still learning what it means to play a sport. It is easy to get frustrated at this. As a parent, you want them to succeed, you paid for them to do this and you aren’t doing something else. Since we’re at practice, let’s play.

This thinking is easy.

In doing so, I’ll miss this time. I’ll miss playing T-Ball in all its glory and frustration if I push for the next season to hard. There will be a time when we won’t get to play baseball, my boys will think I’m not cool anymore.

While it is good stewardship to learn from the past and look towards the future to make wise decisions. Too often, we skip the present and miss God’s gifts right now.

Maybe you are single as an evidence of God’s grace to you. Maybe you aren’t ready to get married, the other person isn’t ready. Maybe God wants you to wait a little longer to have children, or maybe that isn’t his plan for you right now.

Wherever you are right now, how do you see God’s grace in the place you are in?

[Image]