Favorite Books of 2009

I’m a reader. Period. I always have 3 – 5 books going at a time. Everything from sermon prep, leadership, parenting, marriage, church history, spirituality, novels and anything else I’m interested in. I learned a long time ago that leaders are readers, they should read a wide variety of topics and they should read from people they agree and disagree with.

In case you are curious, and you are because you are still reading, here are my top 10 favorite books of 2009 (my favorite at the top):

  1. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years (Donald Miller). This book grabbed and affected me in a way I did not expect and in a way few books have. I found myself laughing, thinking about my life and tearing up from time to time.
  2. The Performance Factor (Pat MacMillan) Very easily the best book I have ever read on the topic of teams. In fact, our staff team, to kick of 2010 is going to work through this book.
  3. Leading on Empty (Wayne Cordeiro). This is a book is a must read every leader, every board member, pastor, spouse of a pastor or leader needs to read. Too many leaders are burning out and not finishing well. This book really caused Katie and I to evaluate our pace, health and how we can sustain ourselves to make it the long haul in ministry.
  4. Water from a Deep Well (Gerald Sittser). Much like Miller’s book, this one grabbed me. I had to read this for school and honestly was not excited by it. It was easily the best book I read for that class.
  5. Primal (Mark Batterson). I’ve always liked what Mark Batterson writes. Ever since I met him back in 2004, he has challenged me as a leader and in my own spiritual journey. Mark breaks down the great commandment, how that applies to our lives and how it might be the key to not only having a more fulfilling relationship with God but also the best way to reach our culture.
  6. Counterfeit Gods (Timothy Keller). Anything by Keller is worth reading. This is no exception.
  7. Surprised by Hope (N.T. Wright). This is a great look at what the beliefs have been about heaven, hell and the afterlife throughout church history; comparing that with what people believe now and how the church should respond and how that affects our mission.
  8. Preaching on Your Feet (Fred Lybrand). This book completely changed the way I preached. While I was moving to preaching without notes, this book sealed it. One of the most important things I have done this year at Revolution.
  9. Outliers (Malcolm Gladwell). I don’t read Gladwell to make a lot of changes in my leadership, although that happens. He is the type of author read to learn something interesting. This book does not disappoint. It is a fascinating look at success and what it does and does not take to be successful.
  10. Money, Possessions & Eternity (Randy Alcorn). This book messed with my mind in the area of money and stuff. I read it for our series How to be Rich and it is by far the most thorough book on the subject. I was convicted on just about every page.

In case you are curious, here are my favorites from 2008.

Here are my favorite albums of 2009.

4 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2009

  1. Pingback: Saturday Night Mind Dump… « My World

  2. Pingback: Top Posts of December ‘09 « My World

  3. Pingback: Top Books of 2010 | My World

  4. Pingback: Favorite Books of 2011 « My World

Comments are closed.