Monday Morning Mind Dump…

  • Yesterday was a good day at Revolution, but it had a weird feeling
  • It definitely felt heavier than it normally does
  • I don’t know if it was because of the tragedy from last Friday in Connecticut, the hustle of Christmas and people being tired, but felt a little off
  • In spite of that, the sermon and music were really powerful
  • I challenged our church with the reality that the goal of parenting is not to raise kids who act like Christians, but instead to help kids find their way back to God and be changed by the gospel
  • If you missed it, you can listen to it here
  • If today resonated with you, I’d encourage you to check out “Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus” by Elyse Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson, “Family Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters who Walk with God” by Voddie Baucham and “New City Catechism” (which is an app to take your kids through a catechism)
  • The last 3 weeks have been great as I’ve preached on marriage, dating and family, but the intensity and warfare is brutal
  • Really excited to preach a Christmas sermon this weekend at Revolution
  • And then wrap up Ephesians on January 6
  • If you are curious, we are going to start a new series on January 13th on the book of Ecclesiastes called Meaning
  • Got a crazy week coming up
  • Between MC, a staff Christmas party, family coming into town, a Christmas service and a wedding
  • Really looking forward to December 23rd and beginning a week of vacation
  • Went to see Lincoln this past week with Katie, what an incredible movie
  • I’m in the middle of Team of Rivalswhich is great, but the movie was simply amazing
  • Daniel Day Lewis was off the charts in that role
  • If the lines are too long for The Hobbit, check out Lincoln
  • This week I’ll post my favorite lists for the year
  • On Wednesday I’ll share my favorite books of the year
  • And Friday I’ll share my favorite albums of the year
  • Definitely don’t want to miss those if you are a book or music fan
  • If you haven’t written it down yet Revolutionaries, our Christmas service is Sunday, December 23rd at 10am

[Image Credit]